School Year Calendar 2022-23

Andover Public Schools Printable Calendar 

2022-23 SY Calendar final


Times for the School Day: 

  • Andover High School: 8:15 AM to 2:51 PM
  • All middle schools: 8:15 AM to 2:50 PM
  • All elementary schools: 9:00 AM to 3:30 PM

Early Release Days:

  • Andover High School: 8:15 AM to 11:30 AM
  • All middle schools: 8:15 AM to 11:30 AM
  • All elementary schools: 9:00 AM to 12:15 PM
Day/ Date Event/ Activity
Monday, August 29, 2022 First Day of School - Teachers
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 First Day of School - Students
Friday, September 2 - Monday, September 5, 2022 Labor Day Recess - NO SCHOOL
Friday, September 23, 2022 Early Release Day
Monday, October 10, 2022 Fall Recess - NO SCHOOL
Friday, October 21, 2022 Early Release Day
Friday, November 4, 2022 Kindergarten Conference ONLY- NO K CLASSES
Tuesday, November 8, 2022 Teacher Conferences (Grades 1-12) - NO SCHOOL 
Friday, November 11, 2022 Veterans' Day - NO SCHOOL
Wednesday, November 23, 2022 Early Release Day
Thursday, November 24 - Friday, November 25, 2022 Thanksgiving Recess - NO SCHOOL
Friday, December 9, 2022 Early Release Day
Monday, December 26 - Monday January 2, 2023 Holiday Recess- NO SCHOOL
Monday, January 16, 2023 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - NO SCHOOL
Monday, February 20 - Friday, February 24, 2023 Presidents' Day/ Winter Recess - NO SCHOOL
Friday, March 10, 2023 Early Release Day
Monday, April 17 - Friday, April 21, 2023 Patriots' Day/ Spring Recess - NO SCHOOL
Friday, May 5, 2023 Early Release Day
Monday, May 29, 2023 Memorial Day - NO SCHOOL
Friday, June 2, 2023 Early Release Day
Tuesday, June 13, 2023 Last Day of School (no snow days)
Monday, June 19, 2023 Juneteenth Independence Day
Wednesday June 21, 2023 Last Day of School (with 5 snow days)

Andover Public Schools serves children from many different religious and ethnic backgrounds, and a goal of the APS Theory of Action is to create safe, caring, and culturally responsive classrooms and schools.  With  that   in  mind,  district   policy  IMDC  "Accommodation  for   Religious  and Ethnic Observances" describes the handling of absences and event scheduling on days which require additional consideration. The School Committee recognizes the list below may not include all holidays observed by Andover families, but there has been an attempt to identify the major ones.

Religious and Ethnic Observances 2022-23

Holiday/ Observance Date
Muharram* Saturday, July 30, 2022
Ganesha Chaturthi Tuesday, August 30, 2022
APS Classes for students begins on Wednesday, August 31, 2022
 
Samvatsari Wednesday, August 31, 2022
Navaratri Monday, September 26, 2022
Rosh Hashanah* (day 1) Monday, September 26, 2022
Rosh Hashanah* (day 2) Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Yom Kippur* Wednesday, October 5, 2022
Dasera/ Dussehra Wednesday, October 5, 2022
First Day of Sukkot* Monday, October 10, 2022
Diwali Monday, October 24, 2022
Chanukah/ Hanukkah* (day 1) Monday, December 19, 2022
Christmas Eve Saturday, December 24, 2022
Kwanzaa (day 1) Monday, December 26, 2022
Epiphany Friday, January 6, 2023
Orthodox Christmas Saturday, January 7, 2023
Lunar New Year Sunday, January 22, 2023
Isra & Miraj* Saturday, February 18, 2023
Holi* Wednesday, March 8, 2023
Ramadan* (month long) Wednesday, March 22, 2023
Palm Sunday Sunday, April 2, 2023
Passover* (day 1) Thursday, April 6, 2023
Good Friday Friday, April 7, 2023
Easter Sunday Sunday, April 9, 2023
Orthodox Good Friday Friday, April 14, 2023
Orthodox Easter Sunday Sunday, April 16, 2023
Laylat al-Qadr Tuesday, April 18, 2023
Eid al-Fitr* Saturday, April 22, 2023
Vesak Day Friday, May 5, 2023
Shavuot* Friday, May 26, 2023
Last Day of Classes is June 13, 2023 (no storm days), June 21, 2023 (5 storm days)
 
*Holidays begin at sundown the previous day  
Eid al-Adha* Thursday, June 29, 2023
Hajj* (5 days) Tuesday, June 27, 2023