School Year Calendar 2020-21

Andover Public Schools Printable Calendar 2020-21 

2020-21 CALENDAR Opens in new window

APS School Year 2020-21 Calendar

Day/ Date
Event/ Activity
Monday, August 31, 2020First Day of School- STAFF
Wednesday, September 2, 2020First Day of School- STUDENTS
Friday, September 4 and Monday, September 7, 2020Labor Day Recess- NO CLASSES
Friday, October 9, 2020Early Release Day
Monday, October 12, 2020Columbus Day- NO CLASSES
Tuesday, November 3, 2020Teacher Conferences (grades 1-12)- NO CLASSES
Friday, November 6, 2020Kindergarten Teacher Conferences- NO KINDERGARTEN
Wednesday, November 11, 2020Veterans' Day- NO CLASSES
Wednesday, November 25, 2020Early Release Day
Thursday, November 26 and Friday, November 27, 2020Thanksgiving Recess- NO CLASSES
Friday, December 4, 2020Early Release Day
Thursday, December 24, 2019 to Friday, January 1, 2021Holiday Recess- NO CLASSES
Monday, January 18, 2021Martin Luther King, Jr. Day- NO CLASSES
Friday, January 29, 2021Early Release Day
February 15-19, 2021Presidents' Day/ Winter Recess- NO CLASSES
Friday, March 19, 2021Early Release Day
April 19-23, 2021Patriots' Day/ Spring Recess- NO CLASSES
Friday, May 7, 2021Early Release Day
Monday, May 31, 2021Memorial Day- NO CLASSES
Friday, June 4, 2021Early Release Day
Wednesday, June 16, 2021Last Day of School- no snow days
Wednesday, June 23, 2021Last Day of School- 5 snow days

Religious and Ethnic Observances 2020-21

Andover Public Schools serves children from many different religious and ethnic backgrounds, and a goal of the APS Theory of Action is to create safe, caring, and culturally responsive classrooms and schools.  With that  in  mind,  district  policy  IMDC  "Accommodation  for  Religious  and Ethnic Observances" describes the handling of absences and event scheduling on days which require additional consideration. The School Committee recognizes the list below may not include all holidays observed by Andover families, but there has been an attempt to identify the major ones.

Religious and Ethnic Observances

2020-2021

Holiday/ Observance
Date
Muharram *Friday, August 21
Ganesha ChaturthiFriday, August 21
SamvatsariSunday, August 23
Rosh Hashanah (day 1) *Saturday, September 19
Rosh Hashanah (day 2)Sunday, September 20
Yom Kippur *Monday, September 28
First Day of Sukkot *Saturday, October 3
NavaratriSaturday, October 17
Dasera/ DussehraSunday, October 25
DiwaliSaturday, November 14
Chanukah/ Hanukkah *Friday, December 11
Christmas EveThursday, December 24
Kwanzaa (day 1)Saturday, December 26
Epiphany/ Armenian ChristmasWednesday, January 6
Lunar New YearFriday, February 12
Palm SundaySunday, March 28
Passover (day 1)Sunday, March 28
HoliMonday, March 29
Good FridayFriday, April 2
Easter SundaySunday, April 4
Vesak DayThursday, April 8
Ramadan * (month long)Sunday, April 25
Orthodox Good FridayFriday, April 30
Orthodox Easter SundaySunday, May 2
Shavuot *Monday, May 17
Laylat al-QadrWednesday, May 19
Eid al-FitrMonday, May 24